South Africa Tour of New Zealand Series 2024

A 14-player squad for the upcoming month has been announced by Cricket South Africa (CSA).

Neil Brand, a batsman with Momentum Multiply Titans, will lead the team, which will also include Zubayr Hamza, who has been called up for the New Year's Test, and Test players David Bedingham and Keegan Petersen, who are currently playing India in the Betway Test series.

Along with spinner Dane Piedt, who will try to increase his Test cap total, and speed duo Duanne Olivier and Dane Paterson, the team also includes the seasoned Khaya Zondo.

One of seven uncapped players is Brand, who earlier this month led South Africa A to a 2-1 series victory against West Indies A.

The other six players are wicketkeeper Clyde Fortuin, spinner Shaun von Berg, seam bowler Tshepo Moreki, batter Raynard van Tonder, and all-rounders Ruan de Swardt 0and Mihlali Mpongwana.

On January 19, the team will leave for New Zealand.

South Africa Test Squad 2024

  • Neil Brand ( c )
  • Keegan Petersen
  • Zubayr Hamza
  • Khaya Zondo
  • Raynard van Tonder
  • Edward Moore
  • Clyde Fortuin (Wk)
  • Dane Piedt
  • David Bedingham (Wk)
  • Ruan de Swardt (Wk)
  • Dane Paterson
  • Duanne Olivier
  • Mihlali Mpongwana
  • Shaun von Berg
  • Tshepo Moreki

"The players selected for this tour are more than capable of taking on New Zealand, and we are certain that they'll be ready when we get to Mount Maunganui for the first Test match.

"The majority of these guys proved their skill against players of international caliber during the recent 'A' series versus West Indies.

Read More: IPL 2024 Full Squad And Players List of Teams

They will undoubtedly be in a better position for the scheduled testing series in New Zealand thanks to that experience."

South Africa vs New Zealand Schedule 2024

SA vs NZ
Mount Maunganui
4th February 2024
03:00 AM
SA vs NZ
13th February 2024
03:00 AM

South Africa Management for the Series

Shukri Conrad (Head Coach), Khomotso Volvo Masubelele (Team Manager), Sizwe Hadebe (Physiotherapist), Piet Botha (Bowling Coach), Kruger van Wyk (Fielding Coach), Imraan Khan (Batting Consultant),

Matthew Reuben (Performance Analyst), Kyle Botha (Logistics and Masseur), Runeshan Moodley (Strength and Conditioning Coach), Dr Konrad von Hagen (Team Doctor), Lucy Davey (Media Manager), and Zunaid Wadee (Security).

As a result, nearly all of the players now facing India at home are not included in the group. Instead, Aiden Markram, Temba Bavuma, Tristan Stubbs, Kyle Verreynne, Marco Jansen, Nandre Burger, Wiaan Mulder, Gerald Coetzee,

Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, and Keshav Maharaj will play for their respective franchises in the IPL-inspired SA20, which begins on January 10.

The squad announced for the India series includes only Keegan Petersen, David Bedingham, and Zubayr Hamza (who replaced the injured Temba Bavuma).

Dean Elgar, who led South Africa in the second and final Test against India, will retire following the match. He, however, will not participate in the T20 tournament.

South Africa produced a clinical performance in the Boxing Day Test, defeating the visitors by an innings and maintaining their unbeaten series record against India.

New Zealand vs South Africa Head to Head in Test Matches

New Zealand and South Africa have played 47 Test matches. New Zealand has won five of these 47 games, while South Africa has won 26 of them, with 16 ending in draws.

Read More: List of Top 10 Fastest Centuries in ODI History 2023

Jano Dekho publishes daily articles with the most recent information.

Muhammad Faizan Anwar